Too late for Twilight?

In just a few short months, the Twilight Saga’s Eclipse will be in movie theaters and fans will be risking life and limb to secure premiere tickets. I can’t say I blame them. I’m forty years old and I’m a fan! Do I hear some not-so-subtle comments and poisoned darts flying at me? C’mon, cut me some slack and hear me out.

I’m not here to review the books or the movies. It did puzzle me, though, that I would actually be into this whole saga. Like I said earlier, I’m 40 years old and way past (or so I thought) the teeny-bopper stage that goes gaga over handsome and hunky teen idols. I was also never into vampire stories because I found them to be too gory and depressing. The romance in them didn’t work for me either because fangs, blood-red eyes, claws and coffins were hardly turn-ons. Ugh!

Stephanie Meyer, the brilliant author (if I may say so) of the Twilight Saga, found the perfect formula to lure me into her make-believe world of mythical creatures. She wrote a classic romance, added a love triangle, spiced it up with both internal and external conflict, jazzed it up with highly interesting, not to mention, incredibly good-looking characters, and iced it with the forever-after (literally) we all wish for in our own romances.

I’m married to my best friend 11 years now, and I never get tired of re-living our romance in our life now, in my mind and in my sleep! I’m a sucker for a good romance and the Twilight Saga did not fail me. So, you see, it’s not too late for me yet. I think I will always appreciate a great romance way into my sixties! My hubby so generously gave me the first two books on our anniversary, and I now have all four books. I cannot wait for Eclipse to be out and I made my hubby promise me movie tickets that will allow me to see the movie twice in a row.

An added plus? I get to relate with our many younger friends who are so into this craze, while also exchanging notes and observations  and how they relate to us in our present lives. And, no, I am not justifying my fondness for all that’s Twilight — I don’t need to. I’m in my mid-life stage and I’m enjoying the “twilight” while I’m at it.

Leave a Reply

