Kudos to the SAHM!

I just read an inspiring blog from an online friend She is a stay-at-home-mom (or SAHM) and supplements her family’s income by running her online baking business. She gets no slack from some family members and friends who wonder why she wouldn’t get a “real” job when she graduated with an engineering degree at a top university. Why not indeed?

Her story is my story. I was always dreaming of running some kind of business when I was much younger. The thought of being my own boss seemed very appealing fresh out of college.  But, alas! The need for a stable income pressured me into being employed for a good ten years or so. And I was never completely happy. Something inside of me wanted to break out and go on my own. I was scared, but the desire to break free from the mold was stronger.

Just like my online friends, I now also run my online baking business (http://velvetconfections.multiply.com/) because of a new found passion that took years to form. I also established a training and speaking business two years ago (http://teamworxventures.wordpress.com/) and relish being able to control my time and activities.

The doubts still come every now and then, though, especially when finances take a turn for the worse. Voices filled with self-incrimination nag me when I find myself with more time and less money in my hands. It is still a never-ending battle that drains me and leaves me wondering if I am doing the right thing.

For all the stay-at-home-mothers out there, your decision to stay home and take care of your precious children will always be the right decision. There could be nothing wrong with it. I have observed so many children who have grown up without their parents’ guidance and I am saddened by their lack of direction in life and their lack of sensitivity toward others. It is a tragedy that so many children are made to grow up on their own and mess up their lives and other people’s lives.

I pray that more families will support the SAHMs. This is a portion of what I wrote to my online friend: “I have started and ended a number of businesses since I graduated from college. And each time I would chide myself for giving up so easily. Perhaps I just wasn’t emotionally, psychologically and financially prepared yet. You said, “It’s been said that not everyone is cut out to be an employee.” I agree with you 100%! I’m one of those — I want to be my own boss and make my business grow and succeed. I have never been happy in all my employment history. And I believe we are all succeeding. Let us not allow other people to define our success for us. The fact that you are doing what you’re passionate about, that you are able to finance your passion and business, that you give happiness to people who receive your tasty works of art, that you are finally recognized and affirmed, all confirm how successful you are!”

This is a good reminder for all the women and mothers having second thoughts about being their own boss and running the household more efficiently. You are never “just a housewife”. Whether you run your own business or not, you are still doing a worthwhile and very important job at home. While money is important, it does not define you as a person. Don’t let it dictate the most important decisions in your life. Go and follow your dreams.

“The ideal life is in our blood and never will be still. Sad will be the day for any man when he becomes contented with the thoughts he is thinking and the deeds he is doing–where there is not forever beating at the doors of his soul some great desire to do something larger, which he knows that he was meant and made to do.”
–Phillips Brooks

I salute you SAHMs! You are God’s gift to mankind.

Leave a Reply

