WW-JAM

WW-JAM? What will Jesus ask me? What will he ask me when I come before his presence, face-to-face, in the fullness of his kingdom?

I’ve always pondered upon this question, especially when I come across fellow Christians who spend most of their time and energy arguing and nit-picking about the peripheral issues that beset Christianity. Sometimes it upsets me that more time is spent debating over the merits of having a “structured church” or a “non-structured church”, than in learning to love God and our neighbors more. After all, isn’t this the core of Jesus Christ’s message and command to humanity? Isn’t it, in fact, the core of his being? Jesus Christ is love!

The New Living Translation of the Bible’s concordance defines love as such: “the ultimate expression of God’s loyalty, purity, and mercy extended toward his people – to be reflected in human relationships of brotherly concern, marital fidelity, and adoration of God.” In 1 John 4:8, “But anyone who does not love does not know God – for God is love.”

An aunt of mine recently reminded me of the importance of my “core”. She said that if the “core” is strong and “in-place”, then I’ll be okay. She was also referring to the core of my relationship with my husband. I believe that, that “core” is love — God’s love. How can we go wrong with that? God’s very being, his love, is the most stable and solid foundation for all our relationships and all that matters in life. To some, this is a very simplistic view. But really, how simple is it to love? How many of us can actually say that we love the way Jesus Christ loves us? The very “simplicity” of this life principle belies the depth of its mystery.

Perhaps many of my friends and readers will have noticed that I talk and write a lot about love.  My reason for this is that God’s love is my ultimate character barometer. Before I think, say, or act, I always need to ask myself this: Do my thoughts, speech or actions spring from love or not? Does my pre-occupation with the correctness or paganism of structured Christian denominations stem from my love for God and others, or from my feelings of self-righteousness and my judgment of other people’s hearts and intentions?

Isn’t it true that the moment love exits, judgment sets in? It is very easy to judge others but so difficult to see and recognize our own faults, sins, and limitations. It is also so much easier to judge others rather than love them. We need to pray daily (and every second) for God’s love to permeate our whole being and flow out of ourselves toward him and our brothers and sisters. When we do this, we will begin to find it more difficult to judge others because we are intimately aware of what Jesus Christ wants us to do and the sin of judgment he wants us to completely let go of.

So what will Jesus ask me? Will  he ask me what church I attend? Will it matter to him that I go to a “structured” or “non-structured” denomination? Will Jesus ask me if I faithfully followed the Acts 2:43-47 “model of a house church” or chose to worship him with fellow believers in a denominational congregation “set up by man”? Will it really matter to God in the overall scheme of things? The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 13:13, “There are three things that will endure – faith, hope, and love – and the greatest of these is love.”

God is the only one true god, creator and ruler of all things, awesome and almighty, perfect in wisdom and knowledge, our sovereign judge and ruler, our faithful, merciful, gracious and loving God. With this glorious perspective and reminder of who God is, the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end (Revelation 1:8), nit-picking on peripheral issues would not befit the Eternal God!

So I continue to strive and learn more about Jesus Christ through his word in scripture, and continue to ask myself questions in the light of his truth and love. What will Jesus ask me? I guess I’ll just have to wait for my face-to-face moment with him. In the mean time, I will love.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. oftherock
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 04:48:02

    I was humbly reminded of what A. W. Tozer wrote “You may be gun-barrel right theologically, yet still be empty spiritually…”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

