I Don’t Have A Hat!

Come and listen, all you who fear God;

let me tell you what he has done for me.

I cried out to him with my mouth;

his praise was on my tongue.

 

If I had cherished sin in my heart,

the Lord would not have listened;

But God has surely listened

and heard my voice in prayer.

 

Praise be to God,

who was not rejected my prayer

or withheld his love from me!

 

Psalm 66: 16-20

 

I was in third grade, at the top of my class, and class president to boot! My mom was one of the most respected high school teachers in the school where my sister and I went, so you could say we held some clout in those days.

It was the Christmas season, a very special time of the year where we come from, so there was to be a school celebration. Each class was expected to perform a very special number in the school grounds. My class practiced a routine for many weeks and we were all feeling rather confident and excited for the big day.

But what really got us going was the costume! It was our chance to be out of our dreary school uniforms and in our best Christmas clothes. While we were given the freedom to wear whatever we wanted, as long as it was special and appropriate for the occasion, we all had to wear a red had with a white pompom at the top – something Santa would wear, I suppose.

As I’ve mentioned earlier, I was at the top of my class, so the assumption is that I was pretty bright, right? I thought so, too, then, except that for some unexplainable reason, I missed that last requirement. Was I absent from class when our teacher told us to wear red hats with pompoms or was I simply not listening at that time? I am still wondering to this day.

The day of our performance came and I went to school in a very special blue denim-type dress, with red piping on the sleeves and collar. I designed it myself and it was sewn by my grandmother on the condition that I pull out as much of her white hair as I could in a few days. I know, it was not a cheap dress.

As I entered our classroom, I began to notice all the red hats with white pompoms. They were just made out of red board, shaped into a cone, because ready-made Santa hats were not yet available to us in those days. I asked my classmates why they had it and if I needed to have one too. I eventually told my teacher that I didn’t have one, and while she was very kind, I started to feel panic rising in my chest and some tears welling up in my eyes. I was class president and I didn’t have a hat! I was so embarrassed!

I remember asking God then to give me a hat. My mom had already taught me how to pray as a very young child and I knew who Jesus was to me in my very young mind. I also remember finally giving way to tears after that short prayer and running the seemingly endless road to the high school faculty room where my mom was. When I finally reached her, I cried my heart out and told her that I needed a red hat with a pompom, and that I needed it soon. The program was about to start and my class had already formed a line at the school grounds. I was not only late, I was not even going to make it!

After drying up my tears and giving me much needed comfort, my mom called some of her best students and asked me to describe the hat to them. To make the very long story really short, I had my hat. It was red, it had white pompoms at the top, and it fit me just right. And I performed the routine with my classmates, smiling, as my mom watched proudly from a distance.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beautifulimperfection
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 17:42:26

    Oh, wow. I almost cried there too.
    That’s awesome though, how it worked out in the end – and such a good story teller too!
    I love happy endings 😀

    Reply

  2. purplethoughts
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 15:32:55

    Thanks a lot! Glad you appreciate it – I love happy endings too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

